Open Access Peer-Reviewed

Heonir Rocha Award 2010

Prêmio Heonir Rocha 2010

Paulo N Rocha

The Heonir Rocha Award was created by the Brazilian Society of Nephrology (Sociedade Brasileira de Nefrologia - SBN) and by the editorial board of the Brazilian Journal of Nephrology (Jornal Brasileiro de Nefrologia - JBN), with the objective of encouraging Brazilian nephrologists to send their best works for publication at JBN.1 The award would be granted to the best original work published at JBN and would consist in full financial support for the main author to attend the American Congress of Nephrology, including airline tickets, registration at the congress and hotel accommodation. This initiative is of very strategic importance at this moment, when JBN is striving to attain Medline indexing.

The 32 original articles published in the last four volumes of JBN were eligible for this first edition of the Award. These articles were carefully reviewed by the Section Editors of JBN regarding the originality of the theme, the methodological strictness, impact (or potential of impact) of the results and the quality of data presentation. The following Section Editors participated in this phase: Elizabeth de Francesco Daher, Hugo Abensur, Maurilo Nazaré Leite Junior, Niels Olsen Saraiva Câmara, Patrícia Abreu, Roberto Pecoits Filho, Sebastião Rodrigues Ferreira Filho and Vera Koch and to them, our most sincere thank you.

The 10 articles with the best score at this phase of pre-selection were then submitted to a final evaluation by the Award Committee, which consisted of the Editor-in-chief of JBN, Dr. Marcus Gomes Bastos and his Co-editors, Dr. Paulo N Rocha, Dr. Rui Toledo Barros, Dr. Jorge Paulo Strogof and Dr. Gianna Kirsztajn. The winner of the Heonir Rocha award 2010 was the article: "Prothrombin G20210A gene mutation, factor V Leiden and anticardiolipin antibodies do not influence renal graft survival after transplantation", by Luis Klaus A. da Rocha and cols. published in volume 31 (4) of 2009.

The Award commemorative plaque was delivered to Dr. José Osmar Medina Pestana, co-author of the study, on September 14, 2010, at the Penedo A Auditorium of the Convention Center in Vitória-ES, during the XXV Brazilian Congress of Nephrology (Photo).

Commemorative Plaque being delivered to the winner of the Heonir Rocha Award 2010.

Upon receiving the award, Dr. Medina expressed his satisfaction at having his work acknowledged, as his team has invested their efforts and believed in JBN as a means to publish their work. In fact, of the 32 articles assessed, 4 had been performed by Dr. Medina's group, including the one that came in second place (see Table).

All those involved in the selection process were very impressed by the quality of the works that have been published in JBN. Due to the success of this First Edition of the Award, Dr. Marcus Bastos is determined to make it into an annual event.

We hope that this Award, which in addition to the acknowledgment brings a two-thousand dollar monetary value attached to it, will stimulate our researchers to contribute even further with JBN, which will certainly culminate in the indexing of our Journal in the best international databases.


1. Bastos MG, Abensur H. JBN Institui o Prêmio Professor Heonir Rocha. Braz. J. Nephrol. (J. Bras. Nefrol.) 2008;30(4):231.

© 2019 All rights reserved